Because Thou Art Here

(From Vultus Christ. Shared with Permission)

I am happy, Lord Jesus, to be in Thy presence.

Dom-Finnian-2-in-adoration-768x512

(Image source: Vultus Christi)

Thy psalmist said it: “To be near God is my happiness.” There are no words to describe what it is to have Thee — God from God, Light from Light, Very God from Very God — so close.
Thou art hidden, but I see Thee.
Thou art silent, but I hear Thee.

Thou art immobile, but Thou reachest out to draw me in and hold me against Thy Heart.
One who possesses Thee in the Sacrament of Thy Love, possesses everything.

Because Thou art here, I lack nothing.
Because Thou art here, I have nothing to fear.|
Because Thou art here, I cannot be lonely.
Because Thou art here, heaven itself is here,
and myriads of angels adoring Thee and offering Thee their songs of praise.
Because Thou art here, I need not search for Thee anywhere else.
Because Thou art here, my faith possesses Thee, my hope is anchored to Thee, my love embraces Thee and will not let Thee go.

You, then, be silent because I am silent;
be hidden because I am hidden;
be humble because I am humble.

Efface yourself because here I have effaced Myself in order to remain with you, in order to give you the radiance of My Face in a way that illuminates your soul without blinding you.
I withhold nothing from those who love Me and seek Me in this the Sacrament of My silent, living presence.

Those who come to Me, and abide in My presence but once, if they allow Me to touch their souls, will return to Me again and again. They will find in Me all that is necessary for happiness in this world, even when suffering abounds and when a darkness seems to have fallen over all things.

In the Sacrament of My Love, I am the pearl of great price and the treasure hidden in the field. I am the lasting happiness of the man who sells all that he possesses in order to possess Me.

I am here for you, and nothing will keep Me from giving to you according to My Heart’s desire. Come to Me and receive what I wait to give you. You will never be disappointed nor will you go away empty.

Give to me, Lord Jesus, according to Thy Heart’s desire. I am an empty vessel waiting for Thee to fill me. I would remain before Thee, silent and empty, and prepared to be filled with whatever it shall please Thee to pour into me. Fill Me according to Thy desire, not only for myself, but for  souls, that I may give them something pure, something divine to drink.

(From In Sinu Iesu, The Journal of a Priest)

Leave a Reply

